Here comes Egia

Basically, from 2008 until 2014 I ran a Dungeons & Dragons 4th edition campaign in my own original campaign world. Refugees from a dead land known as Egia fled across a vast, unknown ocean to escape a magical plague (Don’t even think about it! I rolled out my campaign world before the Forgotten Realms publicly announced their Spell Plague.) and formed a frontier nation called New Egia. It was an interesting experiment filled with about an even mix of clever concepts and ordinary fantasy dribble. I’m equally proud and embarrassed of the effort.

After a much-needed rest from DMing I am once again preparing to take my place behind the shield. This time I’m going to run a prequel campaign in the original Egia before the magical plague struck. So first thing’s first, I need to create the basics of the campaign area including a map. The difference is that unlike New Egia, Egia is not a frontier land. It is an ancient empire filled with both long-dead secrets and new political intrigues. So I will need to take a different approach.

As I work on the campaign over the coming days and weeks, I’m going to post a log of some of my efforts here. For now, I want to post the rough outline of the continent and explain why I chose the dimensions that I did.

Egia_outline

In the coming days I’ll fill these two landmasses in with details but I wanted to form the shell first so I could see what I was working with. The red diagonal line represents approximately 800 miles. Basically, we’re talking about a total landmass in the ballpark of the size of the United Kingdom. I wanted to go with a relatively contained amount of space for two main reasons:

  • Because Egia is going to be an ancient kingdom, it will be much more dense than the continent from my previous campaign, which, as I stated, was more of a frontier. So I don’t want to put the pressure on myself to pack some massive amount of real estate with secrets and political intrigue.
  • Because I want the players to feel as though they can have eventually have an effect on the entire kingdom as their characters grow in power.

Anyway, that’s all for now. More to come as I start fleshing this place out.

This entry was posted in Egia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

